The Global Alliance recognizes exemplary work consistent with our values.  We honor those who are engaged in research, policy and practice with a focus on 

  • creating humane social policy;
  • protecting human rights;
  • preventing behavioral health problems; 
  • strengthening communities, service systems and policy especially for disadvantaged populations.  

  Congratulations to our 2017 Award Winners

Presidential Citation for Lifetime Achievement recognizes distinguished contributions to mental health and social justice.    

Donald WertliebDonald Wertlieb, PhD

Dr. Donald Wertlieb is former president of the Global Alliance for Behavioral Health and Social Justice and is professor and former chairman of the Eliot-Pearson Department of Child Development at Tufts University. Dr. Wertlieb is an applied developmental scientist with a background in clinical-developmental and pediatric psychology. He serves on the Community Health Policy Board at Tufts and is a Research Associate Professor in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Tufts University School of Medicine. His research interests are understanding the complex processes by which children and families cope with adversity (e.g., marital disruption, chronic illness) and applying these understandings to program development cultivating resilience in community settings locally, nationally, and internationally.  He served on the NAS/IOM Steering Group of the National Forum on the Future of Children, and was President of the Society of Pediatric Psychology, a professional membership organization of about 1,000 scholars and practitioners committed to the improvement of health services for children and families.  In 2007, he received the Career Contribution Award for outstanding contributions to the advancement of psychology as a science and a profession from the Massachusetts Psychological Association as well as the APA Lee Salk Distinguished Service Award for outstanding contributions to pediatric psychology.  He is the 2009 recipient of the Nicholas Hobbs Award for Child Advocacy from the American Psychological Association.  

The Max Hayman Award honors distinguished scholarship in the mental health disciplines that contributes to the elimination of genocide and the remembrance of the Holocaust.  

Jeannie AnnanJeannie Annan, PhD

Dr. Jeannie Annan is the director of research and evaluation at the International Rescue Committee (IRC) and a Visiting Scientist at the Harvard School of Public Health. Prior to joining the IRC, Dr. Annan worked for nongovernmental education and child protection programs in Kosovo, northern Uganda, and South Sudan. Her research focuses on sexual and gender-based violence against women, children and youth in armed conflict, and psychosocial programs for victims of wartime and sexual violence.

 The Blanche F. Ittleson Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the delivery of children's services and the promotion of children's mental health.  

Mary Ann McCabeMary Ann McCabe, PhD

Mary Ann McCabe (PhD, ABPP) is Associate Clinical Professor of Pediatrics at the George Washington University School of Medicine and Affiliate Faculty in Applied Developmental Psychology at George Mason University. She is also a clinical psychologist and consultant in independent practice. Dr. McCabe is a member of the National Academies Forum on Promoting Children’s Cognitive, Affective and Behavioral Health, and Chair on the forum collaborative on health care reform. She is also Past-President of the Society for Child and Family Policy, Chair of the American Psychological Association Interdivisional Task Force for Child and Adolescent Mental Health, and Chair of the Consortium for Science-Based Information on Children, Youth and Families. She led the planning of two national interdisciplinary summits on child mental health in 2009 and 2013. Most recently Dr. McCabe was Director of the Office for Policy and Communications for the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) where she oversaw bridging research with policy and practice and directed the SRCD Congressional and Executive Branch policy fellowship programs. Previously, she was the Director of Health Psychology and Director of Training in Psychology at Children’s National Medical Center. Her areas of scholarship have included knowledge transfer across research, practice and policy, promoting child mental health, and minors' capacity for involvement in decision making about medical and mental health treatment and research. Her doctoral training was completed at Catholic University of America, followed by an internship and fellowships with Harvard Medical School at Children’s Hospital of Boston/Judge Baker Children’s Center.

 The Marion Langer Award recognizes distinction in social advocacy and the pursuit of human rights. 

Emily Vargas

Emily Vargas-Baron, PhD

Dr. Emily Vargas-Baron directs and conducts activities for The RISE Institute, a nonprofit organization committed to supporting activities for education and early childhood development in countries affected by conflict or extreme poverty. She also consults internationally in the fields of education and integrated early childhood development, focusing on policy planning, training, program design, and evaluation research. From 1994 to 2001, she was Deputy Assistant Administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development, where she directed the Center for Human Capacity Development. Previously, she founded and directed a research and development institute for early childhood development in Austin, Texas, called the Center for Development, Education, and Nutrition (now called Any Baby Can). Dr. Vargas-Barón was an Education Advisor for the Bogotá Office of The Ford Foundation and a Program Specialist in Education for UNESCO in Paris. She holds a Ph.D. in Anthropology with a focus on Education from Stanford University, where she was also an Associate of the Stanford International Development Education Center. She is the author of many books, chapters, articles, and research and evaluation studies, and she has worked in Latin America, the Caribbean, Sub-Saharan Africa, North Africa, the Middle East, Europe, Eastern Europe, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and South Asia.